Advent: December 1st

For my first Advent picture I’ve chosen this scene just down the road from my home. I liked the way the late afternoon sunlight was bleaching out the hills in distance and backlighting the dried and curled leaf caught by the wool on the wire. A few seconds earlier some curious sheep had been observing me through the fence until a pickup drove past with a dog in the back; it barked and the sheep scattered. Their wool is trapped on the wires on the fence where they’ve rubbed along it and when I was a little girl living in town I used to collect wool from the fences and hedges on country walks and try to “finger spin ” it. I could never understand how the wool could ever become yarn to knit with and make clothes; the short lengths I wrapped around my little fingers kept unravelling no matter how much I twisted.

Now I both keep sheep and spend much of my time working with wool – spinning, dyeing, knitting, weaving, felting – both for my own pleasure and for my job. The image of the wool on the fence with the sheep behind made me feel like I’d come full circle…

P1140418

Leave a comment