Tempus fugit (when you’re having fun)

The past week has involved a good deal of dove-tailing the different areas of my life. It’s been kind of busy – even more so than usual – and wow, hasn’t it gone quickly! Today has been a day to pause, reflect and hibernate just a little because it suddenly got rather chilly here with the wind blowing down off the first snows tipping the mountains to the NorthWest this morning…

It’s been a good week including lots of time with various friends from around the UK on trips out and celebrating gatherings closer to home. Making, writing, sketching, thinking, planning, walking, eating good food … and rather a lot of old fashioned grafting! Although this week we had help in for the major job of breaking up a large part of our farm yard and relaying the concrete which had become damaged over the past 10 years by frost and salt in the more bitter winters. It’s a job that needed doing for a while so although the new surface currently looks as stark as bleached bones, we’re rather pleased with it. We can work on “prettifying” the surrounds next spring!

I’m continually amazed at the glory of this Autumn though. One thing I’ve always thought I’d love to do is to go “leaf peeping” in another country renowned for Autumn/Fall colour. This past week though, I feel replete with all that arboreal Wales has offered during October. It couldn’t be better and it’s right here outside my door…

Here’s a few glimpses of the fun I’ve had both at work and play:

Baking butter cookies and roasted pumpkin soup this morning

dsc_0038

dsc_0028

Around home with my animals and daily life:

p1200550

p1200559

dsc_0096

p1200531

dsc_0008

p1200510

p1200519

A change of scene for a day, exploring somewhere new and catching up with old friends.

p1200484-version-2

p1200456-version-2

p1200381-version-2

p1200429-version-2

I didn’t have my camera last night for our neighbours’ awesome Bonfire Party they host each year but this is definitely something not to be missed, although sadly this year a few people weren’t able to be with us. As usual we finished off by roasting our faces and marshmallows sitting on the straw bales we loan for the occasion. There’s nothing quite like being huddled together round a fire with home made food and drinks, laughing with your neighbours to feel like you’re reinforcing bonds that will last through joy and adversity – and they do (marshmallows optional extra).

These times together are so cherished by us all that we were only halfway through the evening before our conversation turned to our next two usual gatherings – at Christmas and New Year and even projected onto the possibility of a new Midsummer madness!! Smokey smiles all round!

p1200452-version-2

What I can’t show you is the progress being made on the Spinner’s Advent Calendar – it’s top secret until December of course!

dsc_0010-version-2

I’m working my way through packing the pre-orders, they were so popular this year and I’m really grateful for that. There may possibly turn out to be a couple of spares at the end of this. My Ravelry group update thread is the best place to watch for the chance to snap one up…

What I can show you is the newest addition to my stitch marker range – Autumn Sheep! Now in stock.

dsc_0131-version-2

There are more things in the pipeline once the Advent Calendars have winged their way to their new homes. So many things to squeeze into the time. It’s all good!

4 thoughts on “Tempus fugit (when you’re having fun)

  1. I’d seriously think about getting some of your photographs made up into postcards or even cards. I thought that particularly as I looked at the geese against the lovely painted wood, but then realised that so many of the others would work too.

  2. I agree with Freyalyn! My niece is a photographer and has a few sources stateside. I’ll ask her who she recommends and if she knows of some UK options too. Love your photos! and your writing too 🙂

Leave a Reply

