Lamb-skating

October. The trees are not stripped bare, not yet (sorry U2). They are however turning some glorious colours that make my heart sing and I’m struggling not to turn every fibre I dye into a mirror for everything I see around me.

dsc_0008

Sometimes I can’t help myself though when gradients flutter from the hedgerows on my dog walks, begging to be plucked and arranged…

dsc_0017

Yet again, it’s been another kind Autumn. Last year the good weather went on and on into November right up until we’d done some of the hedge laying and then Winter suddenly crashed in with downpours that wouldn’t stop. However, the beginning of this month – so warm and sunny – has given way to fogs and the kind of damp chill mornings that seep into your very bones although thankfully it’s still dry. I’ve layered up on handknits and am turning over possibilities (had I the time) for new garments to cast on. Time for everyone to wrap up now…

p1200233

Almost all the apples are now picked and in the cellar waiting for me to find time to crush and juice them. There’s a lot going on just now and they will keep for a bit whilst we turn our attention to things that really can’t delay.

Before the rains come we need to tackle a job that’s been put off for some years. When we built the house the landscaping round it got left and somehow, as so often happens, just never really got finished. Grass grew over the soil and rubble areas, frosts and rains made the square edges of the plot crumble and slide in and during summer it’s a never ending job strimming the grass just to keep it from seeding and in winter it turns into a quagmire that gets trampled indoors by eager dog paws before they can be halted.

p1200242

p1200245

Not to mention the fact that the temporary front door “step” into the house has been an old wooden pallet propped up on spare blocks for far too long. When it’s wet, it’s slippy. Last winter I slipped over on it myself whilst helping my elderly dog get outside and broke my big toe. It still clicks madly as a reminder that next time it might be somebody else that gets hurt and it might not just be a toe!

p1200255

Apart from being messy and unsatisfactory, it’s also not good for a house largely constructed of timber and organic materials to have earth and grass so close to it. The logistics of clearing out what has fallen in and building the retaining wall that never quite got done constituted a fairly large headache. But a headache we can’t really afford to ignore. Because access becomes impossible for more than half the year, we had to do it now or leave it for almost another year – the summer is far too busy with other jobs to contemplate it. It was now or never.

A mini-digger and mini-dumper were booked for yesterday and today along with the ever-marvellous Phil who can do anything it seems. It is no exaggeration to say that I would not trust a single person other than him to manoeuvre heavy machinery in such an awkward spot fraught with the potential for utter disaster. Having said that, even I had misgivings when I saw the size of the “mini” digger and Phil patiently pointed out that a really baby digger wouldn’t have the reach to scoop out the bottom of the pathway so we needed a larger one to do what was required.

It’s fair to say that I’ve spent an awful lot of the past two days flinching and literally holding my breath as he inched the monster-muncher meticulously around the house that took so much blood, tears, toil and sweat to construct. I trust his judgement and skills implicitly but even so, I was heartily relieved when the machinery could be sent back to the hire company.

This does mean that everything from this point on has to be done entirely by sweat and muscle though … and we’ve done a fair bit of this already today. I’ve spent most of the time with pickaxe and spade, reminding myself of upper body muscles I rarely use whilst digging out the footings for a retaining wall. The digger could only reach certain parts and so manpower – and woman-power, however feeble – was called for!!

P1200277.jpg

The pictures at the beginning of the job were taken yesterday morning just as we were about to start. By close of finish today we’d reduced it to a dusty soilscape ready to receive hard “lamb-skating” as Phil calls it. The image in my head of happy little woolly animals careening about in a carefree manner bleating joyfully puts a smile on my face that sees me through the sweat and grit.

I think I’m going to need to visualise a lot more lamb-skating in the coming weeks as we deal with this lot!

p1200276

p1200272

It needs doing and it will be worth it in the end. I suspect I will be staring glumly at liquid mud if the rain comes soon though … so I hope it stays dry for me and my skating lambs until Christmas this year!

 

Leave a Reply

