Advent: December 4th

This is a slightly odd photograph so I hope nobody objects to it but I find all nature fascinating, even the things that aren’t especially lovely at first glance. I’m also intrigued by things you don’t really often get to see and an ocean-living fish like this one is one of them.

When I was in Anglesey at the beginning of October with my brothers, we found this Lesser-Spotted Dogfish washed up on the beach when we went for a walk.

DSC_0006.jpgIf you’re a sea angler in British waters you probably don’t like dogfish very much; they have a habit of being caught when you don’t want them to apparently! I’ve never caught a dogfish and it’s a very long time since I’ve been sea fishing anyway so I haven’t seen a dogfish since I was a child.

Back then I used to love hunting for “Mermaid’s Purses” along the shoreline – the fanciful name for the rather prosaic egg cases of the dogfish.I much preferred to think of them of little bags from Merfolk even though I knew they didn’t exist. Mind you, I also thought the egg-case thing was pretty cool too…

I also thought it was interesting that once upon a time the rough skin of the dogfish was used as a sort of sandpaper and best of all to my young mind, they’re members of the shark family. There seemed something wildly romantic about seeing a shark in real life. Albeit a rather small and whiffy one!

I’m not sure what finished this poor doggie off – it wasn’t there at the previous low water and had apparently been snacked on by a hungry seagull since the tide rolled out. But even in it’s deceased and tatty state, there’s something rather fascinating about it’s elegant shape and primitive form. I hope you agree with at least some of that and I’ve not put you off your Friday fish dinner!! :0)

One thought on “Advent: December 4th

  1. Amazing creatures. Looks prehistoric! Repulsion of dead things is a natural response. But actually it is hard not to be fascinated and impressed by the beauty. Fits so well in its environment. Poor little soul! Nice you captured the moment.

Leave a Reply

