Happy Christmas

It’s not quite Christmas Day here just yet (although for some of my family and friends on the other side of the world it is and they will be waking soon!)

Here in Wales I’ve cleaned and prepared ready for tomorrow and our visitor who is joining us for Christmas Dinner. I’m now looking forward to having a peaceful day; all tools and work has been put away for a few days and the house is tidier and calm and I’m looking forward to catching up with friends over the festive period and hearing their news. I hope you have a wonderful Christmas too.

I feel very blessed this Christmas. It’s not all been easy this year and there are times when it’s been really quite hard. But I’ve had so many things to be grateful for and it’s appropriate to have a time of thankfulness for the good things received. So many times I only look at the things that aren’t going right and forget the things that are and which I take for granted. I know that sometimes I don’t realise just what I have until it’s been taken from me and I’m trying to remember to appreciate those things whilst I have them here today. Whether in plenty or in want, there is richness in each joyful, painful day – and I seek to find contentment in that.

So many people are not in such a fortunate place and are experiencing trials or hardship of some kind and for them Christmas perhaps is not a happy time. Just as the festive season can highlight the good things, so I know it makes for hollow feelings when things are not going well or if you are lonely or in pain. Words cannot heal those things, nor change the circumstances. But for those who are not looking forward to Christmas for whatever reason, I wish you well and hope and pray you will find some peace this holiday and that the coming year will bring better times.

I love this recording of Astor Piazzolla’s Winter in Buenos Aires played by Mari and Håkon Samuelsen. I was planning on linking it because it was a Winter/Christmas associated piece. This beautiful arrangement includes musical motifs from Summer from Vivaldi’s Four Seasons and that also made me think just now that even in Winter you can find hints of Summer woven inside the ice.

Happy Christmas

Leave a Reply

