Advent: December 16th

Not just the holly berries!

P1070952

This is a Rowan tree, also known as Mountain Ash. Of the genus Sorbus there are lots of varieties, not just these wild ones that grow along the hedgerows. My favourite is Sorbus hupehensis which has paler leaves and bright pink berries; I don’t have one in my garden yet but it’s on my wish list for when it’s been landscaped… if I ever get around to it!

This photo was one I actually took last year in Autumn when the rowans trees seemed especially heavy with berries and must have provided the birds with a huge amount of food. I think you can make jelly from these berries but I’ve never tried it, I believe it has a smokey flavour. One year I’ll have to try it.

Leave a Reply

